top of page
  • Writer's picturePlayful Classroom

An open letter to John Boyle, Secretary of the INTO

Dear John,


Let me introduce myself.  My name is Deirdre O’Toole and I am a Primary Teacher of 15 years in Co. Meath.  I am a mother of two school-going children.  My family and I, along with thousands of others, are restricting our movements at home for 2 weeks due to being a close contact of a positive covid case at school. 


I am an active member of the Irish Teaching Community on Instagram.  You may not be aware of it, but it is a rapidly growing community of passionate, dedicated teachers of all ages and backgrounds.  I cannot speak for all teachers, however, through this platform, I have the opportunity to connect with thousands of Irish teachers on a daily basis.


Yesterday, I read an article with a quote from Minister Stephen Donnelly as follows:

“We're seeing some people who've tested positive have up to 30 close contacts, which is far far too high”

I’m sure you can see the irony in this.  In any classroom, from Inisowen to Rosslare, a pupil or staff member can have in excess of 30 close contacts 5 days a week, with no masks, and without adequate handwashing facilities or ventilation.  To deem this setting “a safe environment”, as Minister Norma Foley has put it, is an insult to the intelligence of every teacher, SNA, child and parent in this country. 


Yesterday, I ran a poll among primary teachers on Instagram.  I had over 3,000 responses. 75% of them said that they do not feel safe returning to school next week.  There are many measures required to make schools a safe environment and prevent the spread of Covid-19, but teachers themselves can do no more.  They have bought disinfectants and steam cleaners from their own pocket to clean their classrooms every day.  They have had their lunchtime supervision doubled.  They eat their lunches in their classrooms, in the corridor or even in their cars. They keep the windows and doors open, despite the cold weather.  And what do they get in response?  Two weeks quarantine and two Covid tests, if they’re lucky like me, or if they’re unlucky, a positive Covid test and the guilt of having potentially passing the virus on to many others, despite their massive efforts at trying to prevent it. 


I welcomed your letter to Minister Foley yesterday evening, ahead of the cabinet meetings today.  However, I feel that it fell short on a number of issues.  Delaying the return to school by 5 days is certainly a step in the right direction, but many feel that two weeks, at a minimum, would help to curtail the post-Christmas spread of the virus.  You also failed to mention the 40% cut to the PPE budget for schools.  This was communicated to principals, in true Department of Education style, after schools had closed for the Christmas holidays.  I ask, how can schools be a ‘safe environment’ with reduced PPE?  You also failed to address the serious issue of the delays and inconsistency of contact tracing. Poor communication, delayed responses and conflicting advice are being experienced by many principals finding themselves in the midst of positive cases in their schools.


In March of this year, teachers adapted to a completely new way of teaching.  We did this with no warning, no training and very little support.  We did our best, and we managed.  We are now much more equipped and prepared for remote teaching than we were then.  I tell you solemnly that I would prefer to teach in person than online, but I feel that the time is right to return to it.  


We need meaningful support from our Union and from the Departments of Education and Health, and we need it now.


Is mise le meas,


Deirdre O’Toole 



9,934 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page